So when I ordered my box of squash online, I received 10 kg or rather 12 squash 🙂 Luckily they keep for around 6 weeks so we are good for 2 a week! I have been looking for different ways to cook spaghetti squash, but although I am avoiding gluten, I am also trying to keep my meals waistline friendly, so here is what I came up with for dinner tonight… Spaghetti Squash with roasted vegetables, lentils and Turkey breast

2014-01-23Ingredients

  • 1 Spaghetti Squash (approx. 650 g) cut in half and seeds removed
  • 1 medium bell pepper, diced
  • 1 stick of celery, diced (55 g)
  • 100 g chestnut mushrooms, diced
  • 1 medium red onion, finely diced
  • 125 g cooked Puy lentils
  • 250 g lean Turkey breast
  • Salt and Pepper to season
  • Olive Oil (I use a spray to reduce how much I use, but try to use no more than a teaspoon for the squash and a teaspoon for the veg

Method

Tonight, I tried roasting them cut in half and sprayed with a teeny bit of olive oil and seasoned with my favourite salt mix (Saison Wild Mushroom and Thyme Salt) and black pepper. I roasted the squash for 40 minutes at 180 degrees. They turned out brilliantly – drier than when I roasted the squash whole so the strands of “spaghetti” were a little more robust.

I made a mix of roast veggies (bell peppers, celery, red onions and chestnut mushrooms). I added some cooked puy lentils and when the spaghetti squash was done, I scooped out the flesh and added this to the veggie – lentil mix. I grilled a couple of small portions of turkey breast and this was dinner. High protein, low carb, high fibre

Serves 4

Calories Sodium Carbs Fibre Sugars Protein Fat
250.75 0.6445 32.7125 8.4375 7.7125 23.475 6.2375
About My Primal Corner

I'm just a Mom, doing my bit to raising healthy, happy kids while indulging a passion for food and travel. We follow and Paleo/Primal diet and keep dreaming about actually living the lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

