It is really hard to find Spaghetti Squash in the UK but I found a source and my first box arrived today. (Check out Big Barn Market Place – awesome site, speedy delivery, good value for money and locally sourced organic produce) I was so excited… must be getting weird in my old age, getting excited about a box of squash! Anyway, my first spaghetti squash lunch is in the making!

Lunch for 2 – Cheesy Chicken Spaghetti Squash

This meal is gluten and wheat free and 309 Calories (34.8 g Protein; 33 g Carbohydrates; 7.6 g Fibre; 7.7 g Fat)

Cheesy Chicken Spaghetti Squash

Cheesy Chicken Spaghetti Squash

Ingredients:

  • 1 Spaghetti Squash (approximately 650 g)
  • 150 g chicken breast cut into small cubes
  • 100 g finely chopped celery
  • 30 g finely chopped spring onions (scallions)
  • 100 g Curly Kale, well washed, shredded and any thick stalks removed
  • 1 clove of roughly chopped Garlic
  • 100 g plain Quark (Quark is a virtually fat-free cream cheese)
  • 2 slices low-fat, sweet milk cheese (I used Leerdammer Light)

Method:

  1. Place squash on a rimmed, lined baking sheet. Make 2-3 vents in the squash by poking deep slits with a sharp knife. Bake in oven for 35 minutes at 180 degrees. Remove from oven and let rest for 10-15 minutes.
  2. Dice the chicken breast into small cubes and stir fry in the olive oil until it starts to brown
  3. Add the diced celery, spring onions and garlic and fry for a few minutes
  4. Add the shredded kale and continue to stir fry for another 5 minutes
  5. Turn off the heat and add the quark. Season with pepper but avoid adding salt if you can
  6. Cut the spaghetti squash in half and remove the seeds. Use a fork to loosen the squash strands.
  7. Add the “spaghetti” to the chicken and mix well.
  8. Place the mixture back into the squash shells, cover with the slice of cheese and place under the grill till the cheese has melted
  9. Enjoy
Cheesy Chicken Spaghetti Squash

Cheesy Chicken Spaghetti Squash

I have been following a gluten-free and wheat free diet for about 3 weeks now and I have to say that I really feel better for it. As soon as I have any form of wheat or gluten, I bloat and have lots of stomach discomfort. Substituting with foods like this makes me happier to go without. I know that there are now loads of gluten-free alternatives and they have improved in quality so much that you can easily go gluten-free these days. I am however trying my best to avoid processed foods and just go with as close to natural as possible. Looking for loads of inspiration here so let me know if you have any to share..

x

About My Primal Corner

I'm just a Mom, doing my bit to raising healthy, happy kids while indulging a passion for food and travel. We follow and Paleo/Primal diet and keep dreaming about actually living the lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

