Let the good times roll! Nothing like spending time with good friends, having some good food and even a few sips of Taittinger to turn a nothing day into a something something day! Had my first Christmas lunch today – my turn in the kitchen and even if I say so myself, it turned out great… the champers helped too 😉 With Christmas Carols playing in the background and a festive spread to indulge in, there is absolutely no way to ignore the wonders of the festive season.

Awesome Foursome

From Left to Right: Rotchana, Richelle, Me, Michele

We are four friends who get together once a month for a meal served on a rotational basis at each of our homes. We are from different parts of the world and bring with us different backgrounds and influences and it really makes for a fun foodie experience. I have learned a lot from these lovely ladies and it has definitely made me up my game in the food stakes! It just so happened that I landed with the honour of hosting our December and therefore Christmas get-together! I think that I chopped and changed the menu at least a hundred times! So many choices of things to make and new things to try… my biggest challenge… weighing up the pros and cons of making something completely new but that I think will appeal to everyone or sticking to what I know and love! With it being Christmas, I decided to go with food that I love having at Christmas time with my family, because it elicits wonderful childhood memories and brings a sense of comfort and closeness at this time of year. We also agree to share some of the load, so the hostess is responsible for mains but guests will contribute starters, dessert and drinks at each occasion. So in the end, my menu played out like this…

Starters

Devilled Eggs

(courtesy of the lovely and sadly absent Michele J)

Mains

Stuffed Poussin with a wild mushroom and Madeira sauce

(stuffing – Bulgar Wheat, onions, mushrooms, pancetta, flaked almonds and Madeira)

Roasted carrots and parsnips

Brussel Sprouts with smoked pancetta, onions, sweet chestnuts and a dash of maple syrup

Devils on Horseback (prunes wrapped in bacon) and Pigs in Blankets (cocktail sausages wrapped in bacon)

Dessert

Pecan Pie with double cream!

(courtesy of the lovely Richelle D)

Drinks

Taittinger Brut Champagne

(courtesy of the lovely Rotchana M)

2013-12-09

I love my friends. If nothing else (well, there are loads of other things but that’s for another time …) they draw out my competitive nature and so there is the need to be sure to put on a decent spread, something to feast on, indulge in and enjoy! So, here’s to good food, good company and a happy festive season

Feeling full… and blessed

x

About My Primal Corner

I'm just a Mom, doing my bit to raising healthy, happy kids while indulging a passion for food and travel. We follow and Paleo/Primal diet and keep dreaming about actually living the lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

