In January I posted that I would be trying to complete a list of 52 new things… one for each week of the year. Ambitious some would say. Me? Well, I say “Aim High!” This all came about from trawling through other blogs and reading about how others were trying new things, enjoying new experiences and getting on with doing rather than just dreaming… perhaps this was my first mini mid-life crisis, who knows. I really was serious about the challenge and have spent the last few months … uh hem, 9 months … trying to complete this list. So far, I am 50% of the way through and have had some really brilliant experiences… will I finish? No, but I will come close and acknowledge that some of the things on the list are unrealistic with having a 1-year-old in tow and a limited budget to throw at this project! I am satisfied though. It did what I needed which was shift me out of the arm-chair and out into the world 🙂

My family

So was this a case of reinvention? Yes for sure. Whether intentional or not is up for debate, but whatever the main reason, I know for sure that I am better of for all of the experiences. I believe in leading by example and if nothing else, my 6-year-old will see that her mum is willing to try new things, that it isn’t always easy and that hard work pays off in the end even if it isn’t the expected outcome. I certainly never started out with reinvention in mind but at least I feel like I am doing something positive with my time rather than just drifting from one chore or activity to another and watching the world live through the internet. I feel like I always have something on the horizon to look forward to. I am getting back to doing things I personally enjoy. The flip side was trying to fit all 52 things in, starting to feel the pressure of the task set and actually turning it into a stress and something that started to take over family life!! So I have chilled out, accepted that I am better off than I was 9 months ago and will be better off still by the end of the year but that it wont hurt me to not finish all of the list in 12 months.

52 New things part way

What I have achieved to date…. Went for a comprehensive allergy test, went mushroom foraging, had some golf lessons, threw pottery, rode a Segway, made a candlelit dinner in the garden, took the family ice-skating, visited a car boot sale, went somewhere new, went to an auction and bid, attended a cake decorating class, went to 3 food festivals, found a good babysitter and booked a regular slot, started up date night, made a flower planter, made something off my “Things I want to make” Pinterest board, was sous chef to my 6-year-old who designed all 3 meals for the day and made them, got waxed, made my own nougat, made bird feeders, visited a junk yard and bought a chest of drawers to refurbish, visited a good friend I haven’t seen for a while, went on a girls night out in Paris, set up a beach day at home, went camping near the beach (not quite on but I’ll take it).

It feels good to try new things again and to find my adventurous spirit… she certainly got lost at some point and for now, she is back in the driving seat! I am finally growing up rather than growing old 🙂 With Autumn upon us and Winter just around the corner, I feel like I need to get out there and experience and explore all that there is to see and do at this time of year! I saw this quote when I went on my Segway adventure …

“Sunshine is delicious, rain is refreshing, wind braces us up, snow is exhilarating; there is really no such thing as bad weather, only different kinds of good weather.” John Ruskin

… I will think of this when the winter seems ongoing and endless and I am out there training for my 10 km run 🙂

About My Primal Corner

I'm just a Mom, doing my bit to raising healthy, happy kids while indulging a passion for food and travel. We follow and Paleo/Primal diet and keep dreaming about actually living the lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

