My Husband is of the opinion that Valentines Day is another commercial cash cow for opportunistic capitalists and to some extent I have to agree with him. I am however far more of a romantic and that side of me, usually wins over here. I do like to celebrate Valentines Day and will make a special effort for all of my family. Granted, I do not wish to fight over a restaurant booking or partake in the buying frenzy that is cards and chocolates, but I do think that having a day to celebrate love in its own right is just fine.

So my breakfast surprise for my daughters (DH will actually be away this Valentines …) will be to try Valentines Day Toast Cups – recipe from E is for Eat πŸ™‚

For lunch (I am having my girl friends round for a glass of bubbly, something to nibble on and a good old-fashioned chinwag!) we will be trying Turkish Manti served with yoghurt and a pepper salsa – recipe by My Barbarian Table – for something different and new to me πŸ™‚ and I can’t wait to try this!

And to finish I am going to try my hand at making these heart-shaped Churros… recipe by Girl Meets Sugar who makes them look really easy πŸ™‚ and will serve them with a hot chocolate dipping sauce… Yuuuuuuum!

For dinner, as it’s just me and the girls, I think we will be having leftovers πŸ™‚

If you or your kids are thinking about some cute Valentines gifts then see these cute homemade marshmallows by Little Skye

The Idea Room has really lovely FREE printables to share. So many great ideas to customise and turn just about anything into a Valentines message. Take a peek here.

I found a really cute gift tag idea via Hill City Bride for Plantable Paper. I think these would also make lovely valentines gift tags

Imperfect People has some really lovely ideas for Valentines gifts, like this Valentines bird feeder. Fun for the kids to make, cheap and easy, practical and won’t rot their teeth πŸ™‚

This idea for conversation hearts by Less Than Perfect Parents is brilliant and simple but effective. Pin them up, turn them into a garland or bunting, use them as place setters or valentines cards… the uses are endless πŸ™‚

And to wrap it all up, here is are a couple of clever valentines gift wrapping ideas by The House That Lars Built

Whatever you end up doing this Valentines, I hope you make a bit more of an effort than usual to show those that you love, just how you feel. Most of all though, enjoy

Lots of love x

About My Primal Corner

I'm just a Mom, doing my bit to raising healthy, happy kids while indulging a passion for food and travel. We follow and Paleo/Primal diet and keep dreaming about actually living the lifestyle.

3 responses »

  1. Locaholic says:

    I love all these homemade heart-shaped crafts you’ve compiled! Especially the bird feeder, I may try that myself!

  2. Tracy says:

    Thanks for including my Less Than Perfect Parents craft!

Leave a Reply

