It’s Burns Night tonight and I am busy sorting what we will do to celebrate (somewhere there is Scottish blood in our family :)) Why celebrate? Well, besides the fact that I believe that it opens a childs eyes to the rest of the world, and the fact that we have Robert Burns to thank for the New Years Eve anthem, “Auld Lang Syne”, it’s just plain fun!

I found some great recipes again on the Netmums website (for those interested in making from scratch) and I will be enlisting the help of my eldest to prepare our feast for dinner (a few cheats to keep it quick and simple because this week… well lets just say I am over it and ready for the Whisky!). We’ll be having Scotch Broth (store-bought though I had every intention of making my own!) to start and Haggis (store-bought and microwavable!) and Clapshot (I will make!) for mains. Then, let there be NO doubt that I am making Millionnaires Shortbread for dessert!

Burns Night Supper

Let the feast and Friday night celebrations begin 🙂

Lots of love x

PS, Don’t forget the Address to a Haggis (Full address and Idiomatic Translation at Wikisource)

“Fair fa’ your honest, sonsie face,
Great chieftain o’ the puddin-race!
Aboon them a’ ye tak your place,
Painch, tripe, or thairm:
Weel are ye wordy o’ a grace
As lang’s my arm.”

~Robert Burns

About My Primal Corner

I'm just a Mom, doing my bit to raising healthy, happy kids while indulging a passion for food and travel. We follow and Paleo/Primal diet and keep dreaming about actually living the lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

