Dating my husband is sort of like getting back to basics… or perhaps reality. I love the thought of us making special time for just the 2 of us. There is always that time where the kids have gone to bed and you chat and watch a bit of TV, but that is just unwinding, letting go of the day, enjoying the peace and quiet 🙂 … not making an effort for each other and so as of this year, my vow is to change this!

DH and I have finally got round to organising a date… as in a night out… just the two of us 🙂 I won’t have to eat cold food because I have been feeding the kids and I won’t have to worry about the time (well a little about the babysitters time…)Long term, we have a plan too! We will go OUT at least once a month and that we will alternate who plans the date. With that in mind, I have been scouring the internet for deals and ideas on what is good for date night. Here are some of the ideas I came across that I think are fun, cute and helpful…

Life in the Greenhouse posted some really fantastic ideas for Date Night but the way of choosing the dates is what I think is coolest. I will most definitely be doing this 🙂 Will be fun for the date nights when we don’t go out

Lucky for me, some of the ideas on my 52 New Experiences list will work nicely for Date Night and I will definitely make the most of that 🙂 They are more for warmer evenings than we are experiencing at the moment but will take a bit of planning so good to get started early!

One idea I have is for an al fresco candlelit dinner (planning required for outdoor dining area!) If I am organised enough, I can go on my cooking course and come home with something made or at least the know-how to make something fancy. Wild Pony has gathered some fantastic ideas for Al Fresco dining but I think this one is my favourite and what I will be aiming for. Doesn’t this look inviting?

Something else I have been wanting to do for ages and that is also on my list of 52 New Experiences, is setting up a Drive-in movie night in the garden at home (first show for the kids and second for us after they’re are tucked up in bed!) If I can recreate some of Miss Design’s atmosphere as shown here, I will be well pleased

Not everything has to wait for the evening and so one of the things I am looking forward to is a brunch Champaign picnic with hot air balloon ride (Off of Ryan’s new experiences list)

The Dating Divas have thought of the kids too and I think that their “Kid Date Night Envelope” is a fab idea. Will give you peace of mind that the kids are involved in both suitable and fun activities while you are out, especially if you are departing a while before bed time…

So here is to getting back to dating my husband and to many such experiences in 2013 and beyond

Lots of love

About My Primal Corner

I'm just a Mom, doing my bit to raising healthy, happy kids while indulging a passion for food and travel. We follow and Paleo/Primal diet and keep dreaming about actually living the lifestyle.

2 responses »

  1. All great ideas! Gets me thinking about dates with the Mrs……

Leave a Reply

