So I grew up in South Africa and now live in the UK, but is it weird that I love the Thanksgiving Holiday? I spent a year in the States after school and it really stuck with me. I love the sentiment and celebration, and simply just making the most of the season and remembering what we should be thankful for.

We won’t be sitting down to a traditional Thanksgiving meal (I am not that much of a stalker) nor am I a huge fan of turkey, but I will be including various traditional things in our weekly menu’s in keeping with the spirit of the holiday πŸ™‚ or perhaps I should just say time of year …

Considering that Christmas is just a month away, I am saving my calorific overindulgence for then, so am thinking just tastings for thanksgiving. Here are a couple of appetizers, mains and desserts to choose from that won’t hurt the waistline πŸ™‚

3 no-bake appetizers from Kitchen Simplicity are a great way to start a meal off, have a light supper or just some snacks for visiting friends…

3 No Bake Thanksgiving Appetizers

For something different and a healthy take on a Thanksgiving Meal, I am inspired by Vegan Yum Yum’s Thanksgiving meal of Seistan Roulade filled with homemade herbed chestnut stuffing and then baked. It is served with fresh tangerine cranberry sauce, broiled green beans with slow roasted tomatoes, and fluffy mashed potatoes. Not pictured is a lovely mushroom gravy made with fresh vegetable broth.

Vegan Thanksgiving Meal

If Turkey is a must, then you could stuff the roulade with turkey for the same meal.

Then there is this Turkey and Wild Rice soup by Jennie O that you could try for something light and simple as well as healthy

Turkey and Wild Rice Soup

Jennie O also does some cheesy turkey pockets that fancy things up a bit but are in keeping with Thanksgiving πŸ™‚

Cheesy Turkey Pockets

And to help with the whole “get your 5-a-day” thing, here is a fun veggie platter by Eating with Allergies to consider.

Thanksgiving veggie platter

Here are some healthy hints posted on Bon Apetit from Sara Dickerman as to how to keep Thanksgiving off your waistline.

Who can go wrong with apple pie so why not try these bite-size mini apple pies with a bit of cheddar by Eating Well πŸ™‚ I love that these are just bite-size so no overindulgence so long as you aren’t holding a plateful!

Mini apple pies with cheddar

Or, if you want to be a little more traditional, how about these Pumpkin Pie Bites from Bakerella. Cute, bitesize, yummy… Definitely making these!

And just to show that it isn’t all about the food, here are some craft ideas to keep little bods busy…

Village people, or rather, Pilgrims and Native American’s by Family Fun

Village people

This Table Centrepiece by Parents.com could keep little bods occupied for a while

Thanksgiving Centrepiece

Living Locurto has some fabulous free printables (here and here) to help with the decorating and party planning if you are having one

Then there are these thankful turkeys from Meet the Dubiens that I love and think that my whole family will make this time round. Sometimes it is good to put those thoughts out there to share πŸ™‚

Thankful turkeys

So, to finish off, this year I am thankful for…

  1. My beautiful daughters Phillipa (6 years) and Erin (6 months). Both bring me tremendous joy and fulfilment. It never ceases to amaze me how much you can love your children
  2. My wonderful, supportive, patient husband!
  3. Our new life in the Surrey Hills and all it took to make it happen
  4. For our families back in South Africa who make the effort to visit us and ensure that we see each other as often as is possible, as well as chat regularly on Skype so that the grandchildren still know who their Nana’s, Grandpa’s Uncles and Aunts are in spite of living so far away (I guess I am grateful for having Skype too :))

Happy Thanksgiving everyone
Lots of love

xx

About My Primal Corner

I'm just a Mom, doing my bit to raising healthy, happy kids while indulging a passion for food and travel. We follow and Paleo/Primal diet and keep dreaming about actually living the lifestyle.

One response »

  1. cupcakemummy says:

    Never lived in the states but i really love the thanksgiving holiday

Leave a Reply

