It always amazes me how much we fill our days with when I look back at photos taken over past weeks. This summer has been no different. Here is a summer of our Summer in pictures…

Summer 2012

It seems that it is time to put the frolics of a carefree summer behind us and start thinking about the changes to come and all that can be enjoyed along with it. Although I am loath to let go of the longer days and warmer weather (even if this summer has been a little crazy), I have to admit that I do love Autumn and all that it brings. Living in the Surrey Hills has also opened doors to a plethora of new opportunities to get out and explore and I am really looking forward to them.

Last Thursday morning brought the start of Phillipa’s first day at her new school and boy was she excited. It was no effort getting her to bed that night as she knew that she would get to wake up and go to school… sleep even came easier than I expected πŸ™‚ The next morning started at sparrow’s fart however and the excitement carried us through the morning… thankfully weekends are there to catch up πŸ™‚

First Day Back to School

With school back and summer over, I am starting to plan for Autumn Harvest, Halloween, Bonfire Night and a November birthday party for a 6-year-old… So just to make sure that we pack everything into Autumn that we would like to, (following on from our summer ideas) we have borrowed At First Blush’s idea of a Fall Bucket List (see At First Blush) and tweaked it to create our own πŸ™‚ – Autumn Bucket List 2012

First on the bucket list is to visit a pick your own farm which we will do in the coming weeks – we are just watching the crop calendar, waiting for the squash and pumpkins to be ready. In the mean time, we are going to get on with our Fall Window Display. I am taking inspiration from Patch O’ Dirt Farm for my Autumn Window Display by using their idea for Waxed Autumn Leaves.

Waxed Autumn Leaves

Better Homes and Gardens has a cute idea for a Gourds and Pumpkins Garland that also uses leaves and want to use the scented waxed leaves here too.

Gourds and Pumpkins Autumn Garland

Inner Child Fun has a fantastic way of brightening up and framing a fall window and I am going to try this too πŸ™‚

Fall Window Collage

Of course, it wouldn’t be me if I didn’t include something about food here, because, let’s face it, food is certainly one of my favourite things! Our bucket list includes, making pumpkin pies and spiced hot chocolate and here are my two picks of recipes I am going to try…

Spiced Pumpkin Pie Hot Chocolate by The Family Kitchen… Yuuuuum!

Spiced Pumpkin Pie Hot Chocolate

And Pumpkin Pecan Pie by the Very Best Baking… Mmmmmm

Pumpkin Pecan Pie

I think that will keep me busy and out of mischief for a while! Watch this space for the verdicts, outcomes and pics … πŸ™‚

Lots of love x

About My Primal Corner

I'm just a Mom, doing my bit to raising healthy, happy kids while indulging a passion for food and travel. We follow and Paleo/Primal diet and keep dreaming about actually living the lifestyle.

2 responses »

  1. rute says:

    hya hope you are well,just would to know if for halloween you are making again the event of pumpkin carving?last time was in putney was amazing…please let me know thanks.

    • kidssakes says:

      Glad you enjoyed the event. Unfortunately we have moved from Putney and so I will be blogging about Halloween instead this year πŸ™‚ Hope you find another similar activity for this year. Regards, Claire

Leave a Reply

