It’s been a long time since I have been to the drive-in theatre though I remember it so well from when I was little. Mom and Dad would dress us in our PJ’s and head off to the “Drive-In” where the first movie would be kid friendly and then we’d be put to “bed” in the back of the car and they would get to watch something more grownup! We used to have to attach those funny speakers to the car window so that we could have sound and it added a special crackly quality to the soundtrack. I am not even sure if these types of theatres exist anymore, but something I am definitely going to do over the summer holidays is recreate the experience in my own back yard… lucky that the kids can stay up a little bit later at the moment 🙂 Here’s my template inspired by Miss Design‘s Outdoor Style…

Home made drive-in

To make it fun for the kids, Homemaking Fun suggests a Concession Stand and “Car-board Boxes” 🙂 I love this idea and am sure that we will have fun making ours.

Concession Stand

I think that, being South African, I will add a barbecue (braai) and perhaps a firepit to prolong the time outdoors and add to the atmosphere 🙂 For a little bit of education, I am thinking that it will be good to give a movie allowance for the concession stand and the kids can buy what they want …

I think I will include:

  1. Homemade pink lemonade
  2. Hot Buttered Corn
  3. South African Hotdogs (Boerewors Rolls)
  4. Popcorn
  5. Pick n Mix Selection (Don’t forget the scale for weighing the goodies selected!)

Since we will have recently completed a move, we will have the perfect boxes to construct some “Cars” for the Drive-In. It will give the kids something to do while the food is prepared and the movie set up.

“Car-board Boxes”

I might just set up a small tent behind the cars for any little bods who need a snooze. TV and sleeping outdoors … should be exciting!

I am really looking forward to this for myself, but think that the kids will love it.

Lots of love

x

About My Primal Corner

I'm just a Mom, doing my bit to raising healthy, happy kids while indulging a passion for food and travel. We follow and Paleo/Primal diet and keep dreaming about actually living the lifestyle.

3 responses »

  1. Belinda - reflections of us says:

    Looks like a groovy thing to do, be great for sleep over, I would love to do it in my back garden however it rains most of the time here. I like your blog. I look forward seeing more.

  2. Faye says:

    Sounds like great fun, Claire, hope you will invite us!

Leave a Reply

