So, I have just 3 days to go before baby number 2 arrives (drumroll please…) and have been diagnosed with potential gestational diabetes (Big boo!!!). It really sucks because it is something that I have tried to avoid, especially as my Dad has Type 2 diabetes (meaning his body produces insulin to process glucose, but his cells aren’t receptive and so the glucose remains in the blood). Unfortunately, this should have been picked up over 2 months ago, but I guess I am one of those patients that has fallen through the cracks!

In any event, it is what it is and so here I am trying my best to be sure that I limit the damage for now and try to control the diabetes with diet and exercise (not easy when you are waddling around like a penguin…) Since my Dad has been a diabetic for the past 25 years or so, I am familiar with the do’s and don’t of eating and what to include and what to exclude from one’s diet, so for me the challenge has been to find inspiration in cooking that encourages me (and my body) to deal with this condition swiftly and easily.

My new FAVOURITE blog without a doubt is My New Roots by Sarah Britton who is a holistic nutritionist and vegetarian chef! I don’t intend to go veggie, but do have many meals that are vegetarian and am happy to add a bit of carnivorous protein to her meals where appropriate 🙂 (Will keep the hubby happy too!!) In any case, I am taking loads of inspiration from her site and think that I will have lots more to learn.

Right now I am rejigging my weekly menu to be even more healthy and balanced. I am excited to be trying to some new recipes that will help with overall health and weight management and will share them once I have tested them out.

I have a Gordon Ramsay Healthy eating recipe books and made these Blueberry Muffins for breakfast this morning. For some reason my mix makes 16 rather than 12, but considering how well they went down, I am not complaining…

Wholemeal Blueberry and Banana Muffins

I am also taking inspiration from Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall’s recipe book Veg Everyday. There are some great recipe’s for breakfast and lunch and I have included some in my menu for the week after this (too much disruption this week ;)..)

Menu 7 May

Anyway, I hope that life will find flow soon enough after our little bundle of joy arrives in the world and I will be back on-line sooner rather than later. Of course, we are also in the process of selling our house and so life is never dull. I would love to be decorating a nursery at the moment, but things are a little makeshift for the moment. We will just have to make more of an effort for her when we move to a new place.

In the mean time, take care. Looking forward to seeing what you are all up to over the coming weeks

x

About My Primal Corner

I'm just a Mom, doing my bit to raising healthy, happy kids while indulging a passion for food and travel. We follow and Paleo/Primal diet and keep dreaming about actually living the lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

