In terms of chronological order, I should have included Chinese New Year before Valentines Day so I thought I would put it in now as I know I will be coming back to Valentines Day anyway.

I love learning about how different cultures from around their world celebrate their holidays and Chinese New Year is one of my favourites. There is so much to see, do, taste and experience and sharing it with my 5 yr old is a treat.

Fire Rainbow Dragon by Vector Designs

Chinese New Year will begin on 23 January 2012 which marks the start of the Year of the Dragon. The year will be 4710 on the Chinese Calendar. Chinese New Year is also known as the Spring Festival.  Do you know which Zodiac Animal you are? See here on Topmarks.co.uk to find out… I was born in the year of the Tiger 🙂

Chinese Zodiac Poster by Activity Village

There are loads of really fun Arts and crafts for kids to partake in for the Chinese New Year celebrations. Here are a few that I think are fun and educational (Click on the headings to visit the various websites)

Egg Box Chinese Dragon by Activity Village

Wooden Spoon Dragon by Activity Village

Paper Dragon by Martha Stewart

And just for fun…

How about making some dragon bread by Show Tell Share, after all, it is the Year of the Dragon…

Dragon tails for little boys and girls with big imaginations by Running with Scissors on Tatertots and Jello…

Dragon slippers from Made by Rae…

The Chinese New Year tradition is to reconcile, forget all grudges and sincerely wish peace and happiness for everyone.

Some things of beauty to behold in the spirit of Chinese New Year…

A Chinese New Years Dragon Cake by charmcitycakes.com…

Steamed Rice Cakes by Kokken 69…

Chinese New Years Recipes by Steamy Kitchen…

Chinese Lanterns by Jellyfish Jelly…

I could go on forever because there is a wealth of information and imagery to share, but I think I have covered most aspects. Happy Chinese New Year 🙂 Enjoy x

About My Primal Corner

I'm just a Mom, doing my bit to raising healthy, happy kids while indulging a passion for food and travel. We follow and Paleo/Primal diet and keep dreaming about actually living the lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

